videogames.exe: Making the Videogames

What’s that? You want to hear the latest on all the games I’m working on right now? Aww, shucks—I can’t say no to a face like that.

Life in the Dorms: The script is finished! I mean, it’s “finished.” There is an entire script, from beginning to end. It’s over 200 pages long. However, I don’t think I’ll ever be able to stop fussing with the text and making small changes here and there until the game is actually released and it’s impossible for me to keep doing so. Additionally, just this morning I received a new build of the game that features the whole of Parts I-III, ready to go. All that’s left is the final boss battle (What? There’s a boss battle in an adventure game?!) and the epilogue. We may actually be on track for our targeted end-of-year release!

testgame: Work on Act III of testgame continues steadily, at the pace of about one or two puzzles per year. (You think I’m joking.) I recently finished editing every line of dialogue in the game that I didn’t write personally, and I’ve moved on to working with Lizo to try to figure out what happens next in the game, plotwise. We’re just past the part where Paul [redacted] for the first time, and now we’re working out to get him an audience with [redacted] so that he can [redacted]. I think we’re actually not that far from the end of the game, but it’s been in development for like six years, so we’re not really in any rush to complete it. Suffice it to say that it WILL be completed some day; it’s just that we might all be dead by then.

Lizo's been hard at work on the game, too. This screen now looks much more impressive in-game; unfortunately...I don't know how to get an up-to-date screenshot from her computer to my blog. Just picture this, but better.

 

Mitsumata: Actually, I don’t think it’s within my pay grade to tell you the current status of Mitsumata. I’ve been proofreading a LOT of text lately; let’s just leave it at that. In the meantime, check out the demo for KINOUgames’ Papa Pirate, Baby Bandit, coming out later this week!

I was also recently paid to write short descriptions for indie games on the Nook, and I’ll be sure to tell you all about them, once I figure out what a Nook is.* Additionally I might be writing character descriptions and/or story for an upcoming Pokémon-style game from China; hopefully it’s more legit than the Chinese GameCola knock-off.

* I’m joking, of course. I’m fully aware that the Nook is a new kind of digital toaster.

One comment

Leave a Reply

