Wal-Mart’s Green Initiative

Far be it from me to be one of those people, who hate on Wal-Mart for their Everyday Low Prices and apparent dislike of everyone who works for Wal-Mart, but recent events have called into question certain Wal-Mart policies—particularly, the “going green” initiative they started back in 2007.

Why bring this up now? I have a funny picture I want to show you, and I’m hoping to make it relevant to real-world events. I mean, Wal-Mart, damn them! I ordered something recently off of Wal-Mart.com (because of their Everyday Low Prices), and I received something…kind of weird, along with my product:

That green plastic stuff is packaging material. It’s used to cushion the item you’re mailing to make sure it doesn’t get broken during delivery. Usually, you only need to use a little bit of it to ensure your item’s safety; but for some reason Wal-Mart sent me so much packing material that it looks like I’ve been hoarding supplies for the past year-and-a-half in preparation for the Mailpocalypse.

It must’ve been necessary, though…right? Surely I ordered something so precious and valuable that it DEMANDED to be wrapped up so delicately. Perhaps some fine china, or an iPad made entirely out of glass. There’s no way Wal-Mart would fill an entire–

It was sunblock. I ordered a bottle of sunblock, by itself, and it came in a box large enough to house a small refrigerator, with enough packaging material for me to do this with it (here comes the funny picture):

Pro-Tip: If there’s enough packing material for me to WRAP IT AROUND MY BODY AND WEAR IT AS A HALLOWEEN COSTUME, you might be overdoing it a bit.

The only explanation I can come up with is that someone in the company is really confused about what “going green” means. I guess that’s why Wal-Mart is changing their slogan to “Wal-Mart: We’re Green, Because WOULD YOU JUST LOOK AT ALL THIS GREEN?! MY GOD!”

6 comments

  1. I have two guesses: They ran out of the right size of boxes at the shipping plant. OR The person who packed that is REALLY MAD at the company for some reason and wanted to waste materials and money as a way of getting back.

  2. @Michelle That’s kind of what I was thinking, too–that they just didn’t have the right box handy. I would’ve waited a couple of days for a smaller box!

Leave a Reply

