Mixtape for a 5K

This coming Labor Day, I’ll be running in a 5K—my very first since that one time I tried to run one in high school, and I ended up placing 95th out of a hundred. Those were some really slow grandmas I beat.

In order to prep for totally killing it, I’ve been running little practice 5Ks all around my neighborhood, 2-3 times a week. I’m not really sure they count, though, since I’m not actually racing against anyone. My only competition tends to be dogs that my neighbors don’t think require leashes, and they’re usually more focused on eating me than on winning. (Guess that’s why you never see any dogs in the Olympics.)

Still, I’ve been working my butts off to not embarrass myself too much this time, and I wanted to share with you an essential part of my training regiment: the songs I’ve been listening to! Why? Because when I die, there needs to be a record that I once ran a 5K while listening to the New Found Glory cover of “Heaven Isn’t Too Far Away.” I don’t know; are personal blogs usually interesting? Just go with it.

After each run I’ve been noting the songs that make me go faster (or, as I originally typed by accident, fatter), and I’ve combined them into the perfect playlist to keep me, during the actual 5K, from thinking “You know what? I don’t really like running. Why don’t I just get some frozen yogurt?” (That’s the official playlist name in iTunes, by the way.) It’s an eclectic selection of rock, pop, emo, and songs from the Yu-Gi-Oh! The Movie soundtrack. I hope they’ll inspire you to greatness like they do me.

1. Deleted – Blind Ambition

You thought I was kidding, didn’t you!

2. Green Day – J.A.R.

3. Weezer – Photograph

I do not believe that’s the official music video.

4. Lostprophets – Rooftops

This one, either.

 

4. The Minibosses – Mike Tyson’s Punch-Out!!

 

5. Puffy AmiYumi – Friends Forever

By the way, if you happen to know Ami OR Yumi, I’d really like to use this song somewhere in Life in the Dorms, and also not pay any money for it. HMU, because I know what that means.
6. Denver, the Last Dinosaur

I don’t need to explain myself.

7. Real American

I DON’T NEED TO EXPLAIN MYSELF.

 

8. A Goofy Movie – After Today

Guess what you’re going to be singing for the rest of the day? It’s this song.

 

9. New Found Glory – Heaven

 

10. Good Charlotte – The Click

You can probably learn something about my deepest personality based on these songs (for example, I’m clearly motivated by love, and by friendship, and by dinosaurs who wear sunglasses and also play guitar in a rock band), but I wouldn’t read too much into it. That’s something a creepy person would do. I hope I don’t die on Monday.

One comment

Leave a Reply

