It Never Hurts to Ask

If you follow me on Twitter, you might’ve seen me mentioning a Big Project I was working on a couple of weeks ago. I just got the go-ahead from the higher ups to talk about what I was doing, so here it is!

cover

That’s right. I worked on Daedalic Entertainment’s new jam. Daedalic, as in the developers of Deponia, one of the best adventure games of the modern era.

I’m still glowing.

The long and short of it is that I helped out with The Night of the Rabbit’s English-language localization; I was a proofreader. I had the game’s entire script in an Excel document, and I played through the game with that open, making adjustments as needed to clean up any grammar issues, or to re-write lines to make them sound more natural in ‘Murcan. My goal with my small part of the game’s development was to make sure that anyone playing it in English wouldn’t be able to tell that it was originally written in German; we’ll find out when it’s released on May 29 whether I was successful or not.

I should say at this point that when I reviewed Deponia (and talked about it on the Mixnmojo Campfire), I didn’t yet have any sort of professional relationship with Daedalic. I think that, going forward, I need to be very careful in how I talk/write about them in GameCola and elsewhere to avoid a possible conflict of interest, but when I gave Deponia a 9/10, I did so as a fan who fell in love with a game. (In fact, it was after falling in love with Deponia and writing the review that I thought to contact them about working on their next game. That’s how Life in the Dorms happened, too; I played their original title Office DisOrders, loved it, and knew I had to get involved somehow.)

It’s a fine, not-so-fun line one has to straddle when one both operates a fan site, and also works on videogames—and I have to face the fact that, at some point, I’m going to have to choose one or the other. But that’s a problem for another day.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

