Full-Motion Franzen

Believe it or not, I’m here with yet another new release from Oh, a Rock! Studios (the “company” I formed last year to try to trick people into thinking I’m a real person). It’s called A Stranger Comes Calling, and it’s the first game that I’ve done basically on my own; the writing, design, programming, and acting are all by me.

Yes, I said “acting.” Because it’s also an FMV game (which, if you don’t know, is a type of videogame that focuses more on the “video” part; it could rightly be called an interactive movie).

Help Awkward Steve psych himself up to answer the door in this brand-new INTERACTIVE FMV THRILLER! Lower his Anxiety by hiding under tables, petting rabbits and more, so he can build the courage to open up when… A Stranger Comes Calling.

  • Like an interactive arthouse film made by someone who’s really good at all those things.
  • A full TV show’s worth of FULL-MOTION VIDEO!
  • Photorealistic HD graphics. So many frames per second.
  • Multiple endings to unlock!!
  • Written, programmed and filmed by one person.
  • Probably the weirdest thing I’ve ever made.

In other words: It’s a faux-arthouse FMV game about a guy trying to psych himself up to answer his front door, even though he has no idea who’s on the other side. It’s one of the weirdest, dumbest things I’ve ever made.

A Stranger Comes Calling is available now on itch.io, if you want to check it out!

Besides thatapparently I’ve been keeping super busy (which is why I can never answer the phone, I’m sorry Mom); here’s some of the other stuff I’ve been working on!

  • Francy Two! I’m not ready to give many details about it yet (like, for example, its name), but arglefumph and I are definitely actively working on a sequel to Francy Droo and the Mystery of the Missing Mother-in-Law! …Okay, I’ll give one detail: We think it’s going to be at least twice as long as the original.

    hot-potato

    Concept art for “Hot Potatoes”.

  • I’ve also got various other Oh, a Rock! games I’m working on (or at least trying to work on) with various friends, ranging in status from “hey, we should make that game!” to “have you started writing the game yet??” to “WHY AREN’T YOU WRITING THE GAME.” I’m not sure how many of the games are actually going to go into production, but I’m really rooting for the one about potatoes to pull through.
  • I’ve also done more contract work for Daedalic Entertainment! None of which I can really talk about, so moving on…
  • The Beard in the Mirror still exists, and we’re still actively working on it! (…I know that’s not very informative, but it’s a long game, and we’re still at that stage with lots of little fiddly stuff that take forever to code and aren’t very impressive to share.) I’ve given up trying to estimate when it’ll be finished, but it wouldn’t be unreasonable to say it’ll probably be out by 2045.

I’m also thinking of starting a new podcast in the next couple of months with some of my Oh, a Rock! collaborators called Indie as it Getsto talk about life as the indiest of indie developers, answer people’s questions about what it’s like to actually make games (when you don’t necessarily know what you’re doing), maybe give some advice about how to get started yourself; stuff like that. Would anyone be interested in that?

Leave a Reply

